Skip to main content
Please wait...

WAILUKU—In what has become an annual event, ILWU Local 142’s Maui Division honored their outstanding members and units at a special awards dinner after the regular Division Executive Board (DEB) meeting on April 16, 2014.

The division presented awards in eight categories, with awards for both male and female winners in individual categories.

Recognition of Unit Member: Gail Manibog, Unit 2511 - Makena Beach and Golf Resort and Kelly Ruidas, Unit 2101 - HC&S Company. 

Recognition of Unit Chairperson: Maraia Dacey, Unit 2511 - Maui Prince Hotel and Sheldon Biga, Unit 2101 - HC&S Company. 

Recognition of Unit Leadership: KeleJo Kahai, Unit 2408 - Foodland Farms, Lahaina #42, Nicole Scida, Unit 2520 - Grand Wailea Resort Hotel & Spa, and Daniel Martinez, Unit 2101 - HC&S Company. 

Recognition of Pensioner: Ruby Yoshisato, Unit 2306 - Maui Pineapple Company and Howard Takemoto, Unit 2406 - Hawaiian Cement/Maui Concrete.

Maui’s outstanding units 
The Outstanding Unit award is categorized based on the number of members in the unit. The following units were recognized for their achievements in 2013.

2013. 1-100 members: Unit 2406 - Ameron, Hawaiian Cement, Walker Industries and Maui Blocks. 

101-300 members: Unit 2506 - Kaanapali Beach Hotel. 

301-500 members: Unit 2505 - The Westin Maui. 

501 or more members: Unit 2101 - HC&S Company.

Unit editor awards 
Best Unit Bulletin: Joseph Aquino, Unit 2101 - HC&S Company. 

Recognition for participation: Seini Dennis, Unit 2505 - The Westin Maui, Crystal Momi Tupou, Unit 2516 - Hyatt Regency Maui, and Melissa Widing, Unit 2520 - Grand Wailea Resort Hotel & Spa.

About the DEB 
Each division holds a DEB meeting once every month to discuss and make decisions on division issues as well as to keep members informed about divisionwide happenings. All unit officers are automatically DEB members and should attend the meetings on behalf of their membership. Any member in good standing is encouraged to attend their DEB meeting. Participation is the key to a successful union!